DTM champion Rene Rast will lose the victory in the Sunday race of the DTM at Spa-Francorchamps at the green table! Because the Audi driver illegally used in the lead position, the Push-to-pass System, he receives a Ten-second replacement penalty for a Pitstop Penalty and slipped back behind his Abbot brand colleague Nico Müller inherits victory, and Robin Frijns in third place. The result is officially, as Audi has decided not to appeal.
"of course I'm disappointed that I lost by the 10-seconds-penalty victory in Spa my," commented Rast, the slips in the standings to third place with only 29 points behind Müller (53) and Jamie Green (30), the judgment. "I had pressed the Push-to-pass button instinctively, as to me the System indicated that I can use the Push-to-pass. To me there is no benefit from the use of demonstrably been formed."
Audi sport chief Dieter Gass is disappointed with the "penalties. Rene had, by the action of no advantage." At the trial, which began on Friday at 10:00 a.m. at the lausitzring, had to rest, came in the company of Audi's DTM project Manager Volker Nossek and Rosberg-team Manager Kimmo Liimatainen, before the three stewards ' against the allegations of fraud defend.
The Trio of Spa-Francorchamps, by the way, was the permanent Steward Felix Holter present, the signed in as a rule, guardians of the DMSB (Deutscher Motor Sport Bund), also responsible for engineering. His two colleagues, Thomas Ferrero from the DMSB and Frederic Frenay from the national club RACB delegates ' agendas at the Lausitzring weekend competent stewards Karsten Ney and Yasin Özer.
That the use was technically possible at all, is due to the fact that the control Push-to-pass used by the marshaling System in of the most from Start-to-finish distant Passage during the entire event, no connection to the cars and, therefore, in the "Manual Mode" toggle. In the follow-up of the vehicle data, which always occurs in the week after the race, it was found that the rule violation.
Audi argued then, locking would have pressed the green indicator on his Display, "instinctively" Push-to-pass button. In addition, you are not hoping for a mild penalty, since the advantage of the grid had gained through the unauthorized use of the overtaking aid, amounted, according to calculations, more than 0.01 seconds.
This article was written by Sven Haidinger
*The contribution of "guilty to unlawful Push-to-pass-use: grid loses Spa victory!" will be released by Motorsport-Total.com. Contact with the executives here.Motorsport-Total.com Updated Date: 14 August 2020, 07:27