Moving to a new smartphone is often relatively easy these days. Even if you switch between an Android device and an iPhone, large manufacturers such as Google, Apple or Samsung offer helpful instructions or apps that are intended to make the whole thing easier. Nevertheless, there are some mistakes that users should better avoid.
Consumers should back up their data at regular intervals anyway. However, this is particularly important before the move, because nobody wants to lose contact details or photos should there be an unexpected problem. Chat histories often have to be backed up first so that they can be transferred. Users can find out how this works with WhatsApp, for example, in the messenger's help area.
A smartphone move is probably the best opportunity to clean up again. Many devices have countless apps, photos that are no longer needed and other files that have accumulated over the years and take up storage space unnecessarily. So that the new mobile phone is not directly filled with rubbish, users should first tidy up and say goodbye to irrelevant ballast.
The situation is similar with so-called bloatware. This is software that is already pre-installed when you buy new devices and "bloats" everything unnecessarily - hence the name. Numerous apps are often pre-installed on smartphones that the user does not even need. Deactivating or deleting these apps not only gives you more storage space, but also helps you keep track of things.
Users should also not ignore the device settings of the new smartphone. Not only can you adapt a lot to your own preferences, but you can also check whether the operating system is up to date and check other security functions.
Many people have been using their favorite apps for years. In some cases, however, it is not advisable to continue using them. On the one hand, there are alternatives for just about every app that may score with a more up-to-date design and additional functions. On the other hand, an outdated app can become a gateway for attackers if it no longer receives updates. In the worst case, known security gaps are no longer closed and strangers may be able to gain access to the user's data.